You are here
Home > Uncategorized > LBW rule in cricket: Howzz that

LBW rule in cricket: Howzz that

Leg Before Wicket aka LBW rules in cricket is one of the most complicated rules of the cricket. Normally we cannot guess whether the LBW appeal will be accepted (given out) or rejected (given not-out). One of my relatives recently asked me if I know this rule and then I decided to share it with you all as well. The rule is complicated as I told you but I have tried to make it as simple and easy to understand as possible, of course, with the help of diagrams. I will finally make you understand what should be given out and what not!
The Universal Rules of LBW:
1. Bowl must be hitting the stumps (if batsman were not there) by the judgment of umpire, then and then only batsman can be given out. (Of course, further conditions should also be fulfilled.)
2. If bowl has hit the bat first, and then the pad, then it is not out in any case. (If it is pad first and then bat, then batsman can be given out, if next conditions are satisfied.)
The Conditions:
About Figures: Ground, pitch, crease etc. you can simply identify. 3 dots show stumps on each end and the grey patch shows the Stumps’ Area. The lines show the trajectories of bowl. Green lines indicate Not Out. Red lines indicate Out. While considering conditions, we will go from Left to Right lines (from bowling end).
#1. Any Bowler To Right Handed Batsman:
Condition 1: Bowl pitches out side the off stump and going to hit the stumps, OUT!
Condition 2: Bowl pitches between Stump Area (SA- shown by grey colour) and going to hit the stumps, OUT!
Condition 3: Bowl is out side the leg stump and is  even going to hit the stumps, NOT OUT!
Condition 4: Bowl pitches out side the off stump and is going to hit stumps, OUT!
Condition 5: Bowl pitches between SA and is going to hit the stumps, OUT!
Condition 6: Bowl is out side the leg stump, and going to hit the stumps, even then, NOT OUT.
 Complicated… but interesting still..!
#2. Any Bowler To Left Handed Batsman:

This figure shows the Left Handed Batsman (LHB) playing to any bowler.

Condition 1: Bowl pitches out side the leg stump, even it goes to hit stump, NOT OUT!

Condition 2: Bowl pitches in SA and goes to hit stump, OUT!
Condition 3: Bowl pitches out side the off stump (Remember, we are talking about LHB) and goes to hit stump, OUT!
Condition 4: Bowl is out side the leg stump and even it goes to hit stump, it’s NOT OUT!
Condition 5: Bowl pitches in SA and goes to hit stump, OUT!
Condition 6: Bowl pitches out side the off stump and goes to hit stump, it is OUT!
Huufffff…! Exhausted? Well, while reading #1 and #2 you also have to remember The Universal Rules as well. This is not that easy right? So, next time when you see an umpire giving a wrong decision and shout at him… Remember this post, and you will calm down for sure!
You can share your beloved blog with your near and dear ones. Just email this post to them by clicking the email symbol below. Also, you can share on Facebook, Twitter etc. You can subscribe to posts. We will be pleased to have your huge cheers..! Howzzz Daat..?

One thought on “LBW rule in cricket: Howzz that

Leave a Reply

Top